For most Regent students, Summon, the Library’s search engine, is their introduction to online research. Summon is the best way to start most research projects, but if you’re looking for the best multi-disciplinary database to search in conjunction with Summon, we suggest Academic Search Complete. This world-renown database features nearly 3,000 peer-reviewed, full-text journals, 3,500 periodicals, 75,000 videos, and indexing and links to 4,700 open access journals. Just as important as quantity of content is the effectiveness of the searching platform. EBSCO offers unsurpassed intuitive searching across all academic disciplines for all levels of research experience. To begin searching Academic Search Complete, click here.
The Library is very pleased to announce the purchase of JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII – XIV. This purchase provides Regent researchers with access to more than 1,400 new peer-reviewed journals and millions of articles in full-text. The Arts & Sciences collections include titles across nearly every academic discipline.
JSTOR is one of the world’s most respected providers of scholarly literature and one of the most popular Library databases with Regent students and faculty. During the 2014-2015 academic year, Regent users conducted 377,536 searches in JSTOR. Now with twice the journal content, plus access to JSTOR’s carefully chosen e-book collection, this invaluable resource will contribute even more to scholarship at Regent.
The Library now has a subscription to FIAF, the International Index to Film Periodicals Plus. Founded in Paris in 1938, FIAF brings together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloging and documentation. It is an essential resource for research into the history of world cinema.
Highlights from the database include:
- Over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals, with in-depth coverage of the world’s foremost academic and popular film journals.
- Full-text coverage from fifty leading film periodicals. Titles in full-text include both scholarly (e.g. Film Comment, Framework) and popular (e.g. Variety, Sight and Sound).
- Full-text of five key reference works:
- The Encyclopedia of Early Cinema (Routledge, 2004)
- Routledge Companion to Film History (Routledge, 2010)
- Oxford History of World Cinema (OUP, 1997)
- Critical Ideas in Television Studies (OUP, 1999)
- Film Analysis: A Norton Reader (Norton, 2005)
- Option to create a free account for storing personal research from the database.
To begin researching FIAF, click here. To view a short video tutorial about the database, click here.
Searching for images on the Web for projects can be a conscience-challenging exercise. Although “borrowing” photos for projects and presentations may feel harmless, it may actually be a violation of copyright law unless the author of the site permits re-use.
The Library now has a subscription to Britannica Image Quest, a database of three million rights-cleared photos from the very best photographic collections in the world, such as the British Library, Getty Images, the National Geographic Society, and the Royal Geographic Society. The database even provides citations for each image in APA, Chicago, Harvard, and MLA styles, so there’s simply no need to be getting images for class projects from Google anymore!
Written by Jason Stuart, Reference Librarian
WorldCat is the world’s largest bibliographic database, containing the contents of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories. On May 2, 2013, the 2,000,000,000th (two billionth) record was added to the WorldCat.
What can such an enormous database do for you?
What do you do when you need a book in a hurry to complete an assignment? Although the Library’s InterLibrary Loan service will ship any book in our collection to you at no charge, sometimes in a fast-paced course, you may not have a week to wait.
When you are in a time crunch or the Library does not have the book you need in e-book form, WorldCat is just what you need. Input your zip code and WorldCat will search the catalog of most every public and academic library in your area.
Nearly all college and seminary libraries allow visitors to use their collections in-house. But even better, most academic libraries offer an “associate membership” for users not affiliated with the institution. If you live near a library with a useful collection for your research, the Regent Library will reimburse you up to $100 per year for an associate membership.
Sometimes you want to expand your research: perhaps your topic is obscure and resources are hard to come by, or maybe you just want to see what other materials are out there and available. If you find something you want to take a look at, simply click the ILLiad link provided in the record of the item you wish to request. WorldCat links directly to ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system, and even fills out the request form automatically.
If you don’t have time to wait for InterLibrary Loan, WorldCat will let you know if a resource is available locally. With a consortium card, available free from the Circulation Desk, you can check out materials at nineteen (19) Virginia Tidewater Consortium libraries.
Important Tip for Regent users
When using WorldCat, I recommend searching the web-based version optimized for Regent users at http:regent.worldcat.org, which automatically lets you know whether an item is in the Regent Library, and if not, includes a link to our ILLiad system. If you are doing very sophisticated research, you might also want to use the Library’s subscription version of WorldCat, but most users will find the web-based version more intuitive and user-friendly.